Marijuana tourism is rapidly increasing as more people are realizing the medical benefits of marijuana. As more states are legalizing both the medical and recreational uses of marijuana products, residents of other states take trips in order to receive the benefits of the drug. However, many get confused as to whether they can legally take the legally acquired marijuana back to their home state of Georgia.
The answer to this will of course depend on your intentions in regard to the substance (whether you plan to use personally, are cultivating the drug or are selling it) and it also depends on how much you have. But it can depend to a certain extent on where in Georgia you are.
What is the law in Atlanta and the rest of Georgia?
In Atlanta, possession of marijuana is now not a criminal act, and it carries with it a fine of only $75, as long as the amount in your possession is less than one ounce. In the rest of the state, possession of less that one ounce can be considered a felony and you may be subject to up to a $1,000 fine or 12 months in jail.
In addition to this, an amount higher than one ounce of marijuana can be considered as possession with the intent to sell, and carries with it a fine of up to $5,000 and a maximum sentence of 10 years.
It is important that you know the laws in regard to marijuana in Georgia intimately before considering any use in the state, as the laws tend to be much harsher than many other states in the country.
Source: Kush Tourism, “Georgia Marijuana Information,” accessed Feb. 07, 2018