If you were found to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs by law enforcement officers, you will have faced a driver's license suspension. A driver's license suspension is conducted by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS), or you may be done through a suspension by the court. When your license is suspended by the court, it means that it was suspended in conjunction with a criminal sentence.
Losing the right to drive can affect a person's life in a huge way. It may limit your ability to get to work, see your children or socialize with family and friends. Therefore, it is important that you know how to get it reinstated as soon as your suspension period has been served for a DUI in Georgia.
How can I get my driver's license reinstated in Georgia?
When your suspension period has been served, you will be able to apply to have it reinstated. Your suspension period is usually a set period of time, for example three or six months. Once you have applied for reinstatement, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee, which is linked to the type of violation you committed.
In Georgia, if you committed your first DUI offense and you are over 21 years old, you will be subject to a reinstatement fee of $200 paid by mail or $210 paid in person.
If you are struggling to get your driver's license reinstated in Georgia, it is important to take action so that you can have the issue resolved as soon as possible.
Source: DMV, "Suspended License," accessed May 18, 2018